Rush Releasing New Album ‘Clockwork Angels’ June 12th

Rush sitting

Rush has unveiled details of its upcoming album ‘Clockwork Angels’. This is the Canadian rock trio’s first new collection of original material in over five years and their first studio release via Anthem/Roadrunner records. ‘Clockwork Angels’, the band’s 20th studio album, will be released on June 12th. See the track listing below.

The recording of ‘Clockwork Angels’ began in April 2010 with Grammy Award winning producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Deftones) – who also collaborated with the band on their last studio album, 2007’s ‘Snakes & Arrows’. Rush co-produced both records. The first two songs, ‘Caravan’ and ‘BU2B’, were completed during that first session at Nashville’s Blackbird studios and performed nightly during the Time Machine Tour, which ran from June 2010 to June 2011. Work on ‘Clockwork Angels’ resumed in the fall of 2011 at Revolution Recording in Toronto after the tour’s finale, with additional strings (arranged by David Campbell) recorded at Hollywood’s Ocean Way Studios earlier this year. Lyrically, ‘Clockwork Angels’ chronicles a young man’s quest across a lavish and colorful world of steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams. The story features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life. The novelization of ‘Clockwork Angels’ is being written by science fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson in collaboration with Rush drummer and lyricist Neil Peart.

Rush will herald the release of ‘Clockwork Angels’ with a new single ‘Headlong Flight’ landing at rock radio on April 19th. Details of a full-scale North American tour to support the new album will be announced shortly.

Rush 'Clockwork Angels'

Rush ‘Clockwork Angels’ Track Listing:
1. Caravan
2. BU2B
3. Clockwork Angels
4. The Anarchist
5. Carnies
6. Halo Effect
7. Seven Cities Of Gold
8. The Wreckers
9. Headlong Flight
10. BU2B2
11. Wish Them Well
12. The Garden

Rush ‘Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland’ Out November 8th

Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson and frontman Geddy Lee

Legendary rock band Rush have announced details for the first offerings through their recently announced partnership with Roadrunner Records. On November 8th, Anthem/Roadrunner will simultaneously release a two disc live album entitled ‘Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland’ as well as ‘Moving Pictures: Live 2011’ on vinyl and digital formats.

‘Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland’ was recorded in April at Cleveland’s Quicken Loans Arena during the Canadian trio’s extensive Time Machine World Tour. The in concert set marks the band’s first live album recorded at a U.S show, a deliberate nod of gratitude to the first city to support Rush on its radio airwaves. The set included classic hits, fan favorites, and a glimpse into Rush’s forthcoming 20th studio album ‘Clockwork Angels’.

As a centerpiece for the concerts, the band performed their landmark album ‘Moving Pictures’ in its entirety – a first in the band’s long career. Check out the full track listing for ‘Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland’ below the cut.

‘Moving Pictures: Live 2011’ marks the first live recording of the band’s most successful album to date. Originally released in 1981, this year marks the 30th anniversary of ‘Moving Pictures’, which features some of Rush’s most well-known songs like ‘Tom Sawyer’, ‘Limelight’, and ‘YYZ’.

Rush Announce New Partnership With Roadrunner Records

Rush band | Photo: Andrew MacNaughtan

Roadrunner Records announced a new worldwide partnership with Anthem Records and Canadian rock trio Rush. The band will remain on Anthem/Universal Music in Canada only.

“We have tremendous respect for Roadrunner Records and what Cees Wessels and Jonas Nachsin have built on a worldwide level. After years of Roadrunner pursuing the band, Tom Lipsky presented a deal that worked and the timing was right. We wanted to be at a label focused on the rock genre — and that’s Roadrunner,” Rush manager Ray Danniels stated.

“In another life I worked with Rush and their great management team more than 30 years ago and to have Rush finally on the Roadrunner label is a dream come true. I am grateful for Ray Danniels’ confidence in this new partnership,” Roadrunner Records Chairman Cees Wessels said.

The first release from Rush through this deal will be various live configurations recorded during their recently completed Time Machine tour.

Rush Taking Most Of 2009 Off

CHARTattack’s Kate Harper sat down with Rush’s Alex Lifeson last December at the annual Andy Kim Christmas Show in Toronto to talk about his favorite Rush songs, being able to tour the world, and plans to follow-up 2007’s ‘Snakes & Arrows’. “We’re planning on taking a year off,” Lifeson said. “I don’t think we’ll do anything until fall of [2009] at the earliest. We were exhausted I have to admit. We did a lot of shows, and the shows were over three hours long. We crammed in a lot on this last run this summer. We all need to take a little bit of a break from it. I think it would do us some good to just sort of step back and not think about music and not think the band and come back fresh after a nice break.” Watch the interview below.

Rush Perform ‘Tom Sawyer’ On ‘The Colbert Report’

Rush visited ‘The Colbert Report’ on Wednesday (July 16) on Comedy Central. Stephen talked about it being the band’s first American television appearance in 33 years, calling them “The J.D. Salinger of Canadian prog-rock.” Stephen had troubles keeping the attention of producer Jimmy, the world’s biggest Rush fan. Rush talked about their musical influences, being known for long songs, Neil Peart’s drum dependency, and signed Stephen’s hand – for Jimmy. Watch the intro, interview, and performance of ‘Tom Sawyer’ below.

Rush Perform In Las Vegas

Rush performed at the MGM Grand Garden Arena on Saturday (July 28) in Las Vegas, Nevada. The rock trio is touring in support of the new album, ‘Snakes & Arrows’. Check out pictures from GettyImages.