Snow Patrol To Release New Album ‘Fallen Empires’ January 10th

Snow Patrol band

Emotional alt-rockers will return on January 10, 2012 with their sixth studio album ‘Fallen Empires’, the group announced earlier this week. The Glasgow based band group teamed with producer Jackknife Lee after recording in California starting in late 2010. Guests on the album include R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, folk-rock singer Lissie and Queens of the Stone Age guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen, who’s featured on the first advance single, ‘Called Out in the Dark’.

“We wanted to make a massively ambitious record,” singer Gary Lightbody said, “a record unlike any other we’ve made before… We started writing songs that were more playful, even rawer than before – we were brave enough to do what we wanted as a band, rather than what convention dictated to us.”

Snow Patrol will toast the album release with a performance on ‘The Late Show with David Letterman’ on January 9th. ‘Fallen Empires’ follows the band’s 2008 effort, ‘A Hundred Million Suns’, which has sold 209,000 copies in the U.S. according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.