Puddle Of Mudd Cover ‘Gimme Shelter’ By The Rolling Stones

Puddle of Mudd

have released their version of The Rolling Stones classic ‘Gimme Shelter’, which serves as the first single from Kansas City, Missouri rock band’s forthcoming album, ‘Re:(disc)overed’. Check out a stream of the track via SoundCloud below and purchase it at iTunes. ‘Re:(disc)overed’ lands on August 30th but is available for pre-order on Amazon now.

For this release, Puddle Of Mudd dig back into their own past for the songs that turned them on to becoming musicians in the first place. ‘Re:(disc)overed’ includes such classics as AC/DC’s ‘TNT’, Steve Miller’s ‘The Joker’, Elton John’s ‘Rocket Man’, the Stevie Nicks/Tom Petty duet ‘Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around’ (which Puddle Of Mudd recorded with BC Jean), Neil Young’s ‘Old Man’, and the first single, ‘Gimmie Shelter’.

“Our goal in interpreting these songs was to pay more tribute rather than reinvent,” guitarist Paul Phillips said. “These are all classics that are perfect in every sense, so who are we to mess with that? We just wanted to represent them in their true form and add a little of our sound to them. We cut everything with very few takes and tried to keep it very live like those old seventies records. We didn’t want to Pro Tool the hell out of it.”

Track Listing For ‘Re:(disc)overed’
01. Gimme Shelter
02. Old Man
03. T.N.T.
04. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around
05. The Joker
06. Everybody Wants You
07. Rocket Man
08. All Right Now
09. Shooting Star
10. D’yer Maker
11. Funk #49

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.