Moonsorrow Sign With Century Media Records


Moonsorrow announced a worldwide record deal with Century Media Records earlier this week. In regards to the signing, the Finnish band commented:
Moonsorrow are thrilled to start working with Century Media, a label that is home to many fellow artists already! We never make our music half way or with compromises and we know our art is in good hands with people who have the same mentality in running a record label. Now, after a year since the release of our last album we are ready to begin creating something new. The new chapter in this epic journey of Moonsorrow!

Moonsorrow was founded in 1995 by the cousins Henri and Ville Sorvali with the goal of creating metal art with a good touch of national romanticism and a distinctively pagan approach. Between 1996 and 2001, Moonsorrow released 4 demos and an album before signing with Spinefarm Records. During this time, the line-up was completed with Marko ‘Baron’ Tarvonen, Mitja Harvilathi and Markus Eurèn – a team that hasn’t changed since then. The second album, ‘Voimasta Ja Kunniasta’, was released in 2001, and its follow-up, ‘Kivenkantaja’ (2003), hit the Finnish album charts at #16. It also took the band to their first shows abroad in 2004. ‘Verisäkeet’ (2005) reached the charts as well, and Moonsorrow played their 1st show on the other side of the Atlantic, in addition to joining Primordial for the band’s 1st full European tour, both in 2006. During that year, Janne Perttilä (also in Barren Earth) joined as live guitarist for the continuing extensive touring.

Their fifth album, ‘Viides Luku – Hävitetty’ (2007) included just two songs, both of them checking in at around the 30-minute mark, paving the way to new heights of epic pagan art, which continued on the 68-minute long ‘Tulimyrsky’ EP with another 30-minute song. 2011 saw the release of ‘Varjoina Kuljemme Kuolleiden Maassa’, a full-fledged concept album about a world after annihilation.

Moonsorrow 2012 line-up:
Ville Sorvali – bass & lead vocals
Henri Sorvali – guitars, keyboards & vocals
Mitja Harvilahti – guitars & vocals
Markus Eurén – keyboards
Janne Perttilä – guitars & vocals
Marko Tarvonen – drums & vocals

Moonsorrow 2012 Tour Dates:
April 14 – Ragnarök Festival, Lichtenfels Germany
June 15 – Hellfest, Clisson, France
July 13 – Bang Your Head, Balingen, Germany
July 14 – Rockharz, Ballenstedt, Germany
July 28 – Fosch Fest, Bagnatica, Italy
August 11 – Alliance Metal Festival, Lviv, Ukraine

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.